A Few Frequently Asked Questions

These are a few questions that we’ve asked ourselves (somewhat) frequently, but which are either not covered in the rules or frequently confused new players. For more “Frequently Asked Questions”, see here, and here, and here.

Q: I have a Merit that allows me to add X to a Test or Trial when I exhaust it. Can I do so after I have rolled the dice, or do I need to do so before I roll the dice?

A: Unless the card explicitly states that you can do so after you roll the dice, you have to exhaust the Merit before you roll the dice to be able to add X to your dice roll. (See here for an “official” response.)

Q: When I leave a League, do I need to flip the League card back (text down)?

A: During Setup you place all the Leagues with the text down, so that you do not know what each League is really like until you visit it–what its Enter or Leave Trials are, what is special about this League, and, perhaps most importantly, what you can recover when you Rest there. When you move in to the League, you flip the card, so you come to know all that information, and can pass the appropriate Enter Trial, if any. The official rules do not specify whether you need to flip the card again—and “hide” all that information—when you leave, and I suspect most players do not do so. You could do so, however, but know that this will likely make the game more difficult, as you may not remember exactly which Leagues allow you to recover a specific Merit when you are in great need of doing so!

Q: If I fail the Enter or Leave Trial of a League, and am thus forced to stay in my current League this turn, can my opponent play a Waylay against me?

A: No. The official rules are quite clear about this: “If a Character remains in the same League you cannot play another Waylay on him, unless special circumstances say otherwise.”

This Art can be played during your opponent's turn.

This Art can be played during your opponent’s turn.

Q: When can I play an Art?

A: The rules are entirely silent about this. We have decided that, unless the Art is a direct response against an action of your opponent, as specified in the card’s text, or if it would affect the score of a Test or Trial you are involved in during your opponent’s turn, you can only play an Art at any time during your own turn.

This Art can only be played during your own turn.

This Art can only be played during your own turn.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s